In 1903 a community of nuns expelled from France opened a Convent School
at Shrublands, Mill Lane. The building has now been demolished.
The
Covent eventually moved to the mansion house of Foxbush in
Hildenborough. Known as Notre Dames de Lourdes it was both a day school for local girls and boarding school for international students. The pupils could be seen in Tonbridge wearing flat bloaters and white gloves (even in the heat of summer). The covent closed its doors in the early 70's.
If a reader has photographs, attended the school or knows anyone who did
please contact tonbridgedaily@gmail.com or leave a comment on the
blog.
Showing posts with label Mill Lane. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Mill Lane. Show all posts
Tuesday, 22 October 2013
Tonbridge Daily Snippet
Labels:
Foxbush,
Hildenborough,
Mill Lane,
Notre Dames de Lourdes,
Shrublands
Saturday, 2 March 2013
Tonbridge Then and Now
![]() |
| The Mill House, Mill Lane/Cannon Lane (date unknown) |
Tonbridge Historial Society Pictorial Collection No 5.805
http://www.tonbridgehistory.org.uk/photos/houses-and-buildings/slides/5.085.html
| The Mill House 2013 |
Saturday, 31 March 2012
Tonbridge Tollgates
Three iron posts, in separate locations in Tonbridge, mark former tollgate sites in the town.
All the commemorative markers are identical, and were put in place by TUDC (Tonbridge Urban District Council). They are undated.
The first is situated outside the Public Library on the corner of The High Street and Avebury Avenue. It's hard to imagine a tollgate in this busy area of the town, but until the coming of the railway the southern part of Tonbridge, as we know it today, simply did not exist.
The second marker is on the corner of Hadlow Road and Mill Lane. This was one of several tolls along this route and it was there until 1868. There is an undated photograph of this location on
http://www.tonbridgehistory.org.uk/photos/other-roads-and-streets/slides/15.Had2b.html
The final tollgate marker can be found on Shipbourne Road. This one is very hard to spot as it sits behind railings and is slightly hidden by foliage. The location is directly opposite the petrol station that is next to The Royal Oak pub.
All the commemorative markers are identical, and were put in place by TUDC (Tonbridge Urban District Council). They are undated.
The first is situated outside the Public Library on the corner of The High Street and Avebury Avenue. It's hard to imagine a tollgate in this busy area of the town, but until the coming of the railway the southern part of Tonbridge, as we know it today, simply did not exist.
| Outside the Public Library on The High Street |
The second marker is on the corner of Hadlow Road and Mill Lane. This was one of several tolls along this route and it was there until 1868. There is an undated photograph of this location on
http://www.tonbridgehistory.org.uk/photos/other-roads-and-streets/slides/15.Had2b.html
| Shipbourne Road tollgate marker |
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
